عن جائزة محمود كحيل

 

يهدف برنامج جائزة محمود كحيل إلى تعزيز الشرائط المصورة والكاريكاتير الصحفي والرسوم في العالم العربي من خلال إبراز مواهب وإنجازات رسامي الشرائط المصورة والكاريكاتير والرسامين في المنطقة.

تم إنشاء برنامج الجائزة في العام 2014، تحت مبادرة معتز ورادا الصواف للشرائط المصورة العربية في الجامعة الأميركية في بيروت، لتكريم وتخليد تراث الراحل محمود كحيل، الذي كان واحداً من أبرز رسامي الكاريكاتير في العالم العربي، وكان خريجاَ من الجامعة الأميركية في بيروت.

وتطلق دعوة مفتوحة في نيسان لترشيح أعمال في مختلف الفئات المدرجة هنا للجائزة. وسيتم تقييم الأعمال المرشحة  والتصويت عليها من قبل جنة حكم مختارة يُعلن عنها خلال حفل إطلاق الجائزة، وسيتم الإعلان عن الفائزين وتكريمهم في حفل توزيع الجوائز في آذار(مارس) من العام 2018.

 

فئات الجائزة

  • الكاريكاتير السياسي
  • الروايات التصويرية Graphic Novels
  • الشرائط المصورة Comic Strips
  • الرسوم التصويرية والتعبيرية Graphic Illustraion
  • رسوم كتب الأطفال

 

بالإضافة إلى ذلك، سيتم منح جائزتين فخريتين

  • جائزة قاعة المشاهير لإنجازات العمر، تقديراً لمن أمضى ربع قرن أو أكثر في خدمة فنون الغرافيك والكاريكاتير.
  • جائزة راعي الشريط المصور العربي. الذين ​​يدعمون  الشرائط المصورة والرسوم الكاريكاتورية في العالم العربي على نطاق واسع  من خلال حفاظ، أوجمع، أوتشجيع أونشر أوتعليم أو اظهار هذا الفن، وبالتالي المساهمة في التراث الثقافي للمنطقة. المرشحين لهذه الجائزة يمكن أن يكونوا:
    – ناشري الشرائط المصورة والرسوم الكاريكاتورية
    – مهرجانات الشرائط المصورة ​​ومؤسسي المهرجانات
    – جامعي  الشرائط المصورة
    – بوابات الإنترنت أو التعاونيات التي تحافظ على فن  الشرائط المصورة أو تدعم أعمال ​​الفنانين
    – برامج الجوائز  الشرائط المصورة
    – معلمي و اساتذة  الشرائط المصورة الذين اسسوا برامج تعليمية للشرائط المصورة ​​وورش عمل
    – مؤرخي الشرائط المصورة العربية
    – المعارض / معرض الذي استضافت فناني الشرائط المصورة

“بالمقارنة مع المبادرات الأخرى في المنطقة، فإن جائزة محمود كحيل تتميّز بكونها أول جائزة مستدامة للرسوم الكاريكاتورية وتمنح بالشراكة بين الجامعة الأميركية في بيروت، المؤسسة الأكاديمية الرائدة في المنطقة، و الجهات المانحة ولجنة حكمٍ تتكوّن من نقاد دوليين مستقلين. وهذه فقط البداية. إننا مزمع أن نبدأ بشكل متواضع ولكن مع عطاء كافي لكي تنمو هذه المبادرة وتتعزز في السنوات القادمة”.

About the Award

­­The Mahmoud Kahil Award program aims to promote comics, editorial cartoons and illustrations in the Arab world through the recognition of the rich talent and creative achievement of comics artists, cartoonists and illustrators in the region.

The award program was established in 2014, under the Mu’taz & Rada Sawwaf Arabic Comics Initiative at the American University of Beirut, to honor and perpetuate the legacy of the late Mahmoud Kahil, one of the leading cartoonists and caricaturists of the Arab World, and a former AUB graduate.

A call to submit work in the various categories listed below is launched annually, when nominations will be assessed and voted on by a select jury panel revealed during the launch, and the winners will be announced and honored at the awards ceremony in March 2018

 

The Awards categories are

  • Editorial Cartoons
  • Graphic Novels
  • Comic Strips
  • Graphic Illustrations
  • Children’s Book Illustrations

 

Additionally, 2 honorary awards will be made:

  • The Lifetime Achievement Hall of fame, recognizing an outstanding dedication and service for a minimum of 25 years in the fields of graphic arts and cartoons

  • The Comics Guardian Award, recognizing those who have extensively supported comics and cartoons in the Arab world through preserving, collecting, promoting, publishing, teaching or exhibiting this Art, and thereby contributing to the cultural heritage of the region. Candidates for this award can be:

    – Festivals of comics and festival Founders
    – Publishers of comics
    – Devoted Collector of comics
    – Online portals or Collectives that preserve comic art or support the work of comics artists
    – Comics Awards programs
    – Educators that have initiated programs on comics teachings and workshops, or have taught comics
    – Arabic Comics Historiographers
    – Exhibitions/Galleries who have hosted comics artists and or sold originals

 

“Compared to the other initiatives in the region, The Mahmoud Kahil Award has the advantage of being the first sustainable Cartoons award offered as a partnership between the leading academic institution in the region, the American University of Beirut, supported by altruistic donors and the judges’ panel consisting of independent international critics. And that is only the beginning; we aim to start humble, yet with enough affluence to allow for growth and enhancement a few years down the road.”